The San Antonio Spurs are an American professional basketball team Located in San Antonio, Texas.

The Spurs are a part of the Southwest Division of the Western Conference in the NBA.
The Spurs are one of four former American Basketball Association (ABA) teams to remain intact from the NBA following the 1976 ABA–NBA merger and also the only former ABA team to have won an NBA championship The Spurs’ five NBA championships are the fourth most ever (tied with the Golden State Warriors) behind just the Boston Celtics (17), Los Angeles Lakers (16), along with Chicago Bulls (6 ) ). The Spurs possess a winning regular season record against every active NBA franchise, and currently rank first among busy franchises for the highest winning percentage in NBA history.
Within their 40 NBA seasons since 1976–77, 22 division names have been won by the Spurs. They have made the playoffs in 27 of the last 28 seasons (since 1989–90) and have only missed the playoffs four days considering entering the NBA; they haven’t missed the playoffs from the 20 seasons since Tim Duncan was drafted by the Spurs in 1997. Using their 50th win at the 2016–17 season, the Spurs extended their record for most consecutive 50-win seasons to 18 (the 1998–99 year has been shortened to 50 games due to a lockout and based on their win percentage of .740, could have easily surpassed 50 wins in an 82-game season, and therefore extend the album by 2 more seasons). Therefore, since the 1997–98 year, the Spurs have had 20 successive seasons with a winning percentage of .610 or greater. The team’s success in that period coincides with the tenure of head coach Gregg Popovich, who’d been the team’s general manager before substituting Bob Hill in 1996.

Read more: